Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Can kurivolt summon itself from your deck?
I have a friend that uses them and he does it all the time. It pissed me off so much because he would summon it from his deck whenever I had an xyz on the field. I never read the card effect till recently but it sounds like it has to be summoned first to the field. Is this true?
So basically my question is if my opponent controlled no monsters and I had an xyz, would he be able to summon it to the field by detaching a material?
3 Answers
- Anonymous8 years agoFavorite Answer
Kurivolt has to be on the field for it's effect to activate. Quite a few cards do not say that the card has to be on the field for its effect, but it is obviously implied (or else cards a lot of cards would be SO broken and everyone would play jinzo ;D). Most cards go into depth about the description so you know the limitations of that cards effect (must be face up, once per turn while this card is face up on the field, etc). Also, cards that special summon themselves usually have "you can special summon THIS CARD", not special summon, for instance, a kurivolt. So simply, you must have kurivolt on the field for you to be ably to detach for another material.
Source(s): judge - 8 years ago
Well yes and no, it depends if you are talking about literally playing itself, then no :3
Useless information, don't expect anything to become of this answer, but whatever :P
So if you picked up a couple packs or a box of Order of Chaos, most likely you threw this card aside to see if you got an Inzektor Hornet.
That being said, I think this card could work well in a Piper Chaos deck, or at least in the side deck.
Kurivolt
Light, Lv. 1, ATK 300/DEF 200
Thunder/Effect
"During your Main Phase: You can target 1 face-up Xyz Monster that has Xyz Material; detach 1 Xyz Material from it, and Special Summon 1 "Kurivolt" from your Deck. This card cannot be used as a Synchro Material Monster."
Actually, now that I think about it, this might actually work as a side card in any deck. Why? The effect can be activated multiple times per turn.
But back to my original point. It fuels piper chaos, and does significant damage to decks that are heavy on Xyz summons.
Say your opponent has a Utopia or a Zenmaines, or two, or 3...
Summon Kurivolt. Use its effect, detatch 1 Xyz material, special summon another Kurivolt from the deck. Detatch another xyz material from your opponents monster. Special summon another kurivolt and remove another xyz material. Then if there are any more Xyz material left on the field...remove them. And then Xyz for a Rank 1 Xyz monster (there's like 2 with decent effects)
Why it works in Piper Chaos:
First and most importantly: It's Level 1.
-It's a target for Piper's draw effect, and it's a target for Kinka-Byo if it's in the grave. (Note, you can special summon it with Kinka-Byo, and then use its effect and summon a second Kurivolt, say, if the third is in your hand. Then you have Kinka + 2 Kurivolt = Rank 1 Xyz monster.)
Second: It's Attribute is Light
-It can fuel Chaos Sorcerer or Black Luster Soldier.
It can't be used as a Synchro Material, but frankly, it doesn't need to be.
- PeterLv 78 years ago
You need one on the field to be able to summon one from your deck. This is because the effect ONLY works while it is on the field.
No, it doesnt work that way. You MUST have another Kurivolt in play to be able to use the effect.