Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

MTG Rotlung reanimate effect?

Does rotlung's effect go off no matter how the creature got into the graveyard from play? Like if I sacrificed a creature to fulfill the payment of another cards cost, would rotlung's effect still activate because it is mandatory?

2 Answers

Relevance
  • ?
    Lv 7
    8 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    It doesnt matter how the creature got into the graveyard as long as it was in play when it was put there.

    Just so that you know, you cannot just sacrifice a creature if you feel like it and the Rotlung does not allow you to sacrifice creatures. This means that you must have a way for the creature to get there.

    Source(s): MTG Judge and longtime player.
  • 8 years ago

    because the text says, "Whenever Rotlung Reanimator or another Cleric dies, put a 2/2 black Zombie creature token onto the battlefield." it means that if a zombie or cleric is put into the graveyard from play, the effect happens. So, if you sacrifice a zombie such as Apprentice Necromancer, you can go get a creature from your graveyard and put it into play, plus get the 2/2 zombie token. Let's say you return Bladewing the Risen. You could then go get another dragon card from your graveyard and put it into play, such as Karrthus, Tyrant of Jund or Skithiryx, the Blight Dragon. You can also get cards like Bladewing's Thrall because a dragon came in.

    So, as you can see, Rotlung can set up some very beneficial situations for you.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.