Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Food & DrinkVegetarian & Vegan · 1 decade ago

Why can't vegetarians eat gelatin?

Someone said in one of their questions that they can't eat gelatin because they are a vegetarian. What is in gelatin that makes it inedible to vegetarians?

16 Answers

Relevance
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Gelatin is made from boiling bones, skin, tendons, and other animal connective tissue. Not pretty stuff....

  • Anonymous
    4 years ago

    Can Vegetarians Eat Gelatin

  • Anonymous
    6 years ago

    This Site Might Help You.

    RE:

    Why can't vegetarians eat gelatin?

    Someone said in one of their questions that they can't eat gelatin because they are a vegetarian. What is in gelatin that makes it inedible to vegetarians?

    Source(s): 39 vegetarians eat gelatin: https://tr.im/v1eYD
  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

    For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/DHOJq

    "Pesco vegetarians" are imaginary so they can't eat anything. If someone wanted to be a "pescetarian" they could eat whatever they want as they just make up their own 'rules'. If you eat fish or dairy or eggs, gelatin is not going to make any difference to any animals.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 1 decade ago

    I'm vegetarian, not vegan, and I don't eat gelatin. It's made from animal connective tissue.

    Skittles in the USA do contain gelatin but European Skittles do not (apparently):

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skittles_(confectione...

    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Is_there_gelatin_in_skit...

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Gelatin is really the collagen from the hooves, bones, connective tissues, organs, and some intestines of animals such as cows, pigs, and fish.

    Gelatin is in seemingly innocuous things like Skittles, Starburst, gummy bears, Altoids, marshmallows, as well as Jell-O.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    no people are wrong, vegetarians DO NOT eat gelatin if you eat gelatin you are not vegetarian, gelatin basically comes from animal bones, so they dont eat it becuase you still have to kill an animal to get gelitan, vegans on the other hand dont eat any animal products whether they directly or indirectly lead to animal harm,

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    Veganheathen is wrong about Skittles, they do not contain gelatin.

  • Anonymous
    6 years ago
  • 1 decade ago

    Usually it's made from the insideof a pigs stomach or something to that effect. But sometimes they can use seaweed as a gelling agent, which is ok to eat I believe.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.