Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Magic The Gathering: Draw and Play cards (Keep Watch)?
If I attack my opponent, and they use Keep Watch (Draw a card for each attacking creature). Is it possible to use an instant drawn after that before damage resolves? For instance, if my opponent draws Snakeform (Target creature becomes a 1/1 snake until the end of turn and loses all abilities), can they use that before damage gets done?
Thanks!
2 Answers
- 1 decade agoFavorite Answer
An instant can resolve at any time, before the combat damage step in this case. An instant can also be cast whenever the caster has priority (instants can have priority at any time.) Keep Watch affects the draw of Snakeform as instantaneously as Snakeform can affect said creature before it deals or receives damage.
In other words, Snakefom can resolve before damage is assigned (combat damage step) even if the caster received the card in response to another instant triggered in an other step in the combat phase.
In not so many words; yes, yes he can.
Source(s): See the Magic the Gathering Comprehensive Rules on Instants and the Combat Phase: Rules 212.5 and 306 respectively. (http://www.wizards.com/Magic/TCG/Resources.aspx?x=... - Anonymous1 decade ago
The combat phase uses a number of steps. The last of these is the "combat damage" step, which is the only time that combat damage is assessed. If you opponent chooses to do anything to your creatures that affects the amount of damage they would deal before that step, then yes, it works.
Basically, it doesn't matter that your opponent drew the new cards as a result of Keep Watch. S/He can still use them like any other spell, provided they don't allow combat damage to be assessed before attempting to change the creature.