Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Anonymous
Anonymous asked in Games & RecreationCard Games · 1 decade ago

MTG ruling information..... counters. +1/+1, -1/-1 and counter spells.?

I was wondering about rules with +1+1 counters and -1-1 counters. Just intersted with some general information, since I dont use them that much.

Ok, so a 4/3 creature gets a +1+1 counter, it becomes 5/4 (For combat purpose). Now it blocks a 3/3 creature, and is 5/1 (So that the one can be dealt by a spell or ability to kill it during that turn.) AT the end of the turn, is it still a 5/4? or does it lose the counter from combat and become a 4/3?

Does a +1/+1 counter cancel out a -1/-1 counter?

Why are they called counters?

Spells: If a spell says it cant be countered, can you counter it since "Abilities on a card don't happen until its resolved" and counter it as it comes into play?

Ive heard you can do that with slivers that make slivers unable to be countered, and counter slivers as they come into play because "Their not slivers until their resolved"

If you use this: http://gatherer.wizards.com/Pages/Card/Details.asp... to play a spell that has replicate, but you only have one of them so you pay its original cost with it, but you use other mana to play the replicate cost, can the replications still be countered?

Just some general stuff I wanted to know since I had the type to type this out... No hurry, blessed be.

7 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    Here are my answers to your questions. I hope this will help you in your future games. :D

    1.Counters are permanent effects that are not represented by a card. So, in other words, counters are permanent effects on a card unless stated otherwise by a card or effect in the game. So in your case, at end of turn it will be still a 5/4 creature.

    2. Yes. A +1/+1 counter cancels out a -1/-1 counter. This is clearly stated in Rule G3.35d " If a permanent has both a +1/+1 counter and a -1/-1 counter on it, N +1/+1 and N -1/-1 counters are removed from it, where N is the smaller of the number of +1/+1 and -1/-1 counters on it"

    3. It is called a "counter" because it usually represented by a bead or button in a game for a player to easily recognize or "count" the number of +1/+1 or -1/-1 or time on a permanent.

    4. You cannot counter a card that says "It can't be countered". Although you're somehow right to say that the card is still not in play, but a spell will always enter the stack. This is where your opponent get to respond to your spell by using the stack. So, this ability will take effect even on stack. And if you think about it. Why would WotC put something like that if it can be countered while still on stack? It will be useless right? You cannot counter something that is already in play.

    5. Replicate is an ability that copies a spell and is treated like a separate and new spell. It will not copy the special effects of the original card. It is clearly stated in Rule 502.52.Ruling.4 that "These spells can be countered separately, BUT these spells were not played and do not trigger abilities that trigger on a spell being played." So, the other copies will not trigger Boseiju's "cannot be countered" ability. The original card will only trigger it.

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    They're called counters because you count with them. Simple enough. :)

    The only point to having +1/+1 or -1/-1 counters on a creature are to remind you of how the creature has been changed. Some abilities give creatures +X/+Y until end of turn, but anything that has you place +1/+1 or -1/-1 counters on a creature are changing its power and toughness permanently.

    Also, damaging a creature does not subtract toughness: it is merely damage. A 5/4 creature taking 3 damage does not become a 5/1: you just have to keep track of how much damage is dealt to it in case any more is to be dealt before the end of the turn. At that time, it regains all damage taken for the turn (as long as it wasn't killed) and returns to its normal state.

    With a +1/+1 counter on it, the creature would return to being a 5/4. If it was effected by a spell that gave it +X/+X "until end of turn", it would become a 4/3 again. Counters are just permanent changes in power and toughness.

    Also, yes, a +1/+1 counter will cancel out a -1/-1 counter, and vice versa.

    As for the slivers, you're probably talking about Root Sliver. It states that "Sliver spells can't be countered by spells or abilities." Anything that would deal with countering would refer to the spells, not the cards themselves. The game knows it can't prevent you from countering a creature, but it can prevent you from countering a creature spell. And that is exactly what it does.

    Finally, yes, the replications can be countered. Replications play as though you had that many cards in your hand and just played them all at once. Each is a separate spell, and so each can be countered.

    Hope that helps. I know the part about counters might be a bit confusing, but just know that when a creature has +1/+1 or -1/-1 counters on it, its power and toughness are being permanently changed so long as the counters are still on them.

  • Anonymous
    6 years ago

    This Site Might Help You.

    RE:

    MTG ruling information..... counters. +1/+1, -1/-1 and counter spells.?

    I was wondering about rules with +1+1 counters and -1-1 counters. Just intersted with some general information, since I dont use them that much.

    Ok, so a 4/3 creature gets a +1+1 counter, it becomes 5/4 (For combat purpose). Now it blocks a 3/3 creature, and is 5/1 (So that the one can be dealt...

    Source(s): mtg ruling information counters 1 1 1 1 counter spells: https://tr.im/yQec5
  • 1 decade ago

    For your first question, Damage does not remove a +1/+1 counter from a creature, and all Damage is removed at end of turn.

    Your second question: Yes, a +1/+1 counter will cancel out a -1/-1 counter.

    I'm not sure why they're called counters.

    4th question: If a card says that it can't be countered, it can't be countered. It's a static ability that functions while it's on the stack.

    5th question: Root Sliver's text reads "Sliver SPELLS can't be countered" so they are Sliver Spells while they're on their stack.

    6th question: It's kinda hard to understand your English but I'll try... Only the original spell can't be countered, because Boseiju doesn't say anything about copies of the spell.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    first off this all would be easyer if u im'd me my email is llamaboi15@yahoo.com

    ok a +1/+1 counter is a permanent like an enchantment so it stays on even after damage so at end of turn he goes back to 5/4

    next yes+1/+1 counters negates -1/-1 counters

    they are called counters like the dice counts your life its called a life counter

    cards that say they cant be countered cant be countered no matter what the abilty is on the card not a comes into play abilty

    a card with replictateis countered when it comes into play but not the abilty the copys go off

  • Anonymous
    5 years ago

    For the best answers, search on this site https://shorturl.im/awDxI

    1) It would enter the battlefield with its texted values only when the O-ring leaves. It would not have any counters (unless of course something like Triskelion that says it does). It does keep anything from before its trip to exile. Enchantments/equipment fall off something going to exile (enchantments go to the graveyard, equipment will hang around) and are not reattached with the creatures re-entry. 2) Much like O-ring, anything off the battlefield does not have any memor. thing have no counters/auras in the graveyard. And I went searching through the comprehensive rules to find you proof (the exceptions are a little complicated to understand, but none apply to the scenario, I just threw them in or your opponents would probably argue its one of the exceptions): 400.7. An object that moves from one zone to another becomes a new object with no memory of, or relation to, its previous existence. There are six exceptions to this rule: 400.7a Effects from spells, activated abilities, and triggered abilities that change the characteristics of a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to the permanent that spell becomes. 400.7b Prevention effects that apply to damage from a permanent spell on the stack continue to apply to damage from the permanent that spell becomes. 400.7c Abilities of a permanent that require information about choices made as that permanent was cast use information about the spell that became that permanent. 400.7d Abilities that trigger when an object moves from one zone to another (for example, "When Rancor is put into a graveyard from the battlefield") can find the new object that it became in the zone it moved to when the ability triggered, if that zone is a public zone. 400.7e Abilities of Auras that trigger when the enchanted permanent leaves the battlefield can find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard if it was put into that graveyard at the same time the enchanted permanent left the battlefield. It can also find the new object that Aura became in its owner's graveyard as a result of being put there as a state-based action for not being attached to a permanent. (See rule 704.5n.) 400.7f If an effect grants a nonland card an ability that allows it to be cast, that ability will continue to apply to the new object that card became after it moved to the stack as a result of being cast this way.

  • ?
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    Magic The Gathering Counters

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.