Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Yu-Gi-Oh Rulings 101?
I've decided to do this after thinking about it for a while.
Here's what I'm going to do, I'm going to give 10 situations and the rulings for each one
Then, you guys can answer this question by giving me a respond, or ask a ruling question
I'm thinking about doing this every once a while when I gathered 10 good rulings to announce, some will be quick, and some will be slow, but in the end, you will have an answer.
1. Pot of Duality vs Future Fusion
Q: Can you activate Pot of Duality the same turn you activate Future Fusion?
A: Yes, however, you cannot activate PoD the turn that the fusion monster is summoned via Future Fusion
-Ruling
1) If the 'Activation' is negated, you're allowed to special summon or activate another Pot of Duality
2) If the 'Effect' is negated, then you're not allowed to special summon nor activate another PoD
2. Exodia
I have made this mistake before, but I've learned my lesson
Exodia is an effect monster without an effect, the part to win the duel is a 'Win Condition', it's not continuous, so this is why Exodia cannot be negated by anything.
3. Optional Triggers
Optional Trigger effects are commonly missing the timing, however, people intend to misunderstood them
a) "If x happens, then you can ...."
b) "When x happens, then you can ...."
In example (a), that's a 'If, you can' optional trigger which will not miss the timing, it only cares if the requirement(s) is/are met.
In example (b), it's a 'When, you can' optional trigger that will miss the timing if the last thing that happened was not meeting the requirement(s)
4. Psi-Blocker
In order to understand Psi-Blocker fully, you must understand the rulings for 'Prohibition' first. Sure, Psi-Blocker and Prohibition is different, I agree, however, most of the scenarios that you will come across can be found in the rulings of Prohibition.
If Psi-Blocker is on the field while Royal Decree is active, and you declare Royal Decree for Psi-Blocker's effect, Royal Decree's effect will no longer apply until the effect expires. And no, removing him from the field will not stop the 'Lingering Effect'
-Ruling
1) The card you declared can be used as cost
2) The card you declared cannot be used as a synchro material monster
5. Necrovalley
As some of you know, Necrovalley recently received an erratum, which threw many people off. But really, nothing major has changed, here are some 'new' stuff that has been ruled
1) This card no longer negates, it lets the card 'Resolve without an effect'
2) 'Affect' generally means physically moving the card out of the grave to elsewhere
3) Cost that 'Affects' the grave will not be stopped by Necrovalley
4) Cards such as Plaguespreader Zombie or Stardust Dragon has no conflict with Necrovalley
6. Quick Effect vs Damage Step
Q: Can a Quick Effect be activated during the damage step?
A: If the Quick Effect is able to negate Activations, then yes, otherwise, no it cannot
-Skull Meister is an exception in which it does not negate activation but is allowed to be activated during the damage step
7. Light and Darkness Dragon
Q: What happens if LaDD does not have 500 atk / def to lose?
A: Many will say that LaDD cannot negate any longer, and that is correct, however, if I was to go into more detail, due to LaDD being mandatory, it will still be chain link 2, then when it's LaDD's turn to resolve, it will resolve without an effect.
Example:
Chain Link 1: Jar of Greed
Chain Link 2: LaDD (800/400, but it still activates)
Chain Link 3: Chain Strike <-- this is why LaDD being Chain Link 2 may be important
8. Solemn Judgment
Q: Can Solemn Judgment negate a normal summoned via Ultimate Offering?
A: No, in TCG, it is ruled as the normal summon is caused by an effect, therefore, Solemn will not be able to negate that normal summon
9. Karakuri
The new archetype 'Karakuri' has been throwing people off.
-Rulings
1) If a Karakuri is in def mode, you do not have to attack with that card
2) If a Karakuri is in atk mode, you are required to enter your battle phase and cannot leave until you've attacked with a Karakuri monster
3) If you're prevented from attacking (Gravity Bind, Level Limit, etc.) while you control an atk position Karakuri, you are required to enter your battle phase as well, then proceed to end phase from there
4) If you skipped your battle phase by a card effect (meaning you cannot enter your battle phase), you do not have to attack with a Karakuri monster
10. Phantom of Chaos
Q: What happens if Phantom of Chaos has already changed its name, but later on Skill Drain/Forbidden Chalice negated the effect?
A: It will keep the monster's name, atk, def, and effect (of course negated though) of the monster until the effect wares off, however, no
6 Answers
- Anonymous1 decade agoFavorite Answer
I love the facts.
I got a ruling question. That i really wanted to know the answer for quite a while now.
irst how does time work in tag? because they told me that every player gets one turn then its over which I think is BS because if the 4th player deals damage and he is the only one that gets to attack thats retarted...does anyone kno where i can find the rulings for tag?
second, I have light and darkness dragon and I attack then they use book of moon which is negated by light and darkness dragon, then they chain mirror force wich is not negated by light and darkness and destroys it.... i didnt think you could chain mirror force at that point in the frist place since he was chaining to my light and darkness dragon's effect, and second why wouldnt my light and darkness dragon negate the mirror force aswell???
does book's effect activate before priority? i summon they book it but its effect doesnt go off
- 6 years ago
This Site Might Help You.
RE:
Yu-Gi-Oh Rulings 101?
I've decided to do this after thinking about it for a while.
Here's what I'm going to do, I'm going to give 10 situations and the rulings for each one
Then, you guys can answer this question by giving me a respond, or ask a ruling question
I'm thinking about doing this every...
Source(s): yu gi rulings 101: https://shortly.im/iRnTu - GamerguyLv 41 decade ago
add this to necrovalley, zombie master has no problem with it when used upon itself, it meets its own requirements for pitch a zombie to summon a zombie and if you pitch a zombie master you can get said zombie master. any card that involves itself like that or can involve itself really can be used though necro valley