Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Do/can vegetarians eat dairy products?
I thought they did, but now I'm not so sure. I'm a vegetarian & I eat dairy products - does this mean I'm not a proper vegetarian?
11 Answers
- yesLv 51 decade agoFavorite Answer
Dairy products as in milk, cheese etc is fine. Most vegetarians don't eat eggs. Some who do are considered mostly vegetarians, eggetarians or lacto-ovo vegetarians. Vegan avoid all animal and dairy products. But don't worry about what vegetarians "can" or 'cannot' eat; just think about what you will or will not eat. You and your choice are what is important. Just listen to your own body and intuition and see what seems right to you.
- Anonymous5 years ago
If you want to become a vegetarian then you need to 100% believe that what ur doing is right or it just wont work. I became vegetarian at 13 too and this is 4 years later and i cant imagine ever going back - my beliefs that it is wrong to eat meat have grown during this time. As for vitamins - you will still get calcium, vitamin C etc from dairy products but the 3 main nutrients vegetarians can miss out on are: Iron - this is easy, some everyday breakfast cereals have 100% of iron in them, also dark green vegetables (spinach, broccoli) Protein - this can be hard if u don't like beans, it it also in nuts and seeds, vegetarian cheese and tofu is a good source Vitamin B12 - This is also pretty easy to get - its in wholegrain/wholewheat pasta, bread and cereals Hope this is useful. Best wishes and good luck. Natalie
- Anonymous1 decade ago
yes a vegetarian means you can not eat meat, a vegan in the other hand cant eat Anything That Was Made by / Came from an animal so dairy products, eggs and so on
Hope It Helps :)
- Anonymous1 decade ago
Vegans do not eat meat, fish, or poultry. Vegans in addition to being vegetarian, do not use other animal products and by-products such as eggs, dairy products, honey, leather, fur, silk, wool, cosmetics, and soaps derived from animal products.
http://www.vrg.org/nutshell/vegan.htm
Vegetarianism involves the practice of following a diet that includes fruits, vegetables, cereal grains, nuts and seeds, with or without dairy products and eggs.
- How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- Anonymous1 decade ago
In short: yes, vegetarians can eat dairy.
Lacto-ovo vegetarians eat dairy and eggs.
Lacto vegetarians eat dairy but don't eat eggs.
Ovo vegetarians eat eggs but don't eat dairy.
Strict vegetarians/dietary vegans don't eat dairy or eggs.
Vegans don't eat dairy or eggs, plus don't buy other animal products (for example, wool)
All of those excluding meat, of course.
- Anonymous1 decade ago
yes a vegan is a person who is a vegetarian but doesn't eat dairy. You are a vegetarian.
Source(s): experience - 1 decade ago
You aren't vegan, but you can still be a vegetarian.
The difference is that vegans don't eat meat OR other animal derived products, while vegetarians just avoid meat in the most basic sense.
- Anonymous1 decade ago
Yes vegetarians can eat diary products, vegans do not any any animal products such as eggs, honey and diary products. Vegetarians do not eat the flesh of an animal including fish.
Source(s): I've been a vegetarin for 5 years now :D - Anonymous1 decade ago
I think that YES you are a proper vegetarian :) I eat diary products but i buy them in shop with food from ecologic farms whitch treat well animals