Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Yu-Gi-Oh! card ruling for MST and threatening roar?

OK, so here is the scenario. My opponent goes first in the duel. He sets a trap and normal summons a monster, then passes the turn to me. In my hand I have the spell card MST, which is a quick play. I activate my MST to destroy his set trap. He chains a threatening roar to my MST to were i cant att this turn.

So my question is, can he chain his threatening roar to my MST even though it is a quick play and his threatening roar is not? My MST destroys his threatening while it is face down so he shouldn't be able to chain it because it has a lower spell seed right?

Please leave a detailed answer to my question. Thanks.

5 Answers

Relevance
  • Favorite Answer

    it does not matter the speed of your mst because it does not use the wording "negate";therefore, "negate" would cancel any effects of any spell or trap but you are not using such a card. Now its his turn to react with a trap/spell and it does not have a reason to stop so, you wasted a mst. sorry.

  • radich
    Lv 4
    5 years ago

    Att Mst

  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    You are incorrect. They have the same Spell Speed.

    Spell Speed 1:

    Normal Spells, Continuous Spells, Equip Spells, Field Spells, Ritual Spells, Flip Effect monsters, Ignition Effect monsters, Trigger Effect monsters, Ignition-like Spell/Trap effects, Trigger-like Spell/Trap effects.

    Spell Speed 2:

    Normal Traps, Continuous Traps, Quick-Play Spells, Quick Effect monsters, Quick-like Spell/Trap effects.

    Spell Speed 3:

    Counter Traps.

    No Spell Speed (applied instantly without using the chain):

    Continuous Effect monsters, Continuous/Equip/Field Spell/Trap effects that are not Trigger-like or Ignition-like (the card itself uses the chain, but the effect afterwards does not).

    As long as his face-down card has an equal or higher Spell Speed than the card destroying it, your opponent can Chain it in response. The exception to this is Spell Speed 1 cards, which cannot be used against each outside of SEGOC (when multiple Triggers activate simultaneously).

    Source(s): yugioh.wikia.com
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    Threatning Roar is a Speed Spell 2, and so is MST.

    They can be chained to each other.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    8 years ago

    This past saturday i went to my local card shop to do some trading and got into a team duel to test out my newly built deck. A very similar scenario came up with one of my traps which was Synchro Material and one of my opponent's MSTs. I activated my trap and they activated their card but knowing the way certain spells work gave me the upper hand. MST states,"Destroy 1 spell or trap card on the field." the card does not say,"Destroy and negate 1 spell or trap card on the field." My opponent thought that it would destroy my trap and keep me from using its effect, not so because MST only destroys the card, it doesn't negate it like 7 Tools or Magic Jammer does. Although if i set a Macic Cylinder or a "trigger" trap like it and you activated MST without triggering my trap it will be destroyed and I would not be able to activate it, unless you trigger my trap. Hope I helped.

    Source(s): years of dueling since the game started
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.