Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and the Yahoo Answers website is now in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Is Egg Matzo Appropriate for Passover or not?
I have a Jewish friend, and since his birthday falls during Passover I bought him some Passover-approved sweets and foods. However, I did get a small box of egg matzo too since it was the only type they had in stock. After I bought it, I realized that although Ashkenazi Jews cannot consume 'rich man's matzo' during Passover, Sephardic Jews can (although it can't be used for Seder). Would the best course of action to be to ask him what he identifies as? I know for a fact he doesn't keep strict kosher year round (when we eat out with our friends, he'll occasionally get cheese steaks, cheeseburgers, etc. but stays away from ham and shellfish), and he doesn't go to the synagogue every week, yet I guess Passover would be more important and I wouldn't want to offend him even though he definitely wouldn't freak out about it. Thanks in advance.
7 Answers
- BMCRLv 77 years agoFavorite Answer
General rule is that Ashkenazim are not allowed to eat it AT ALL at any point during Passover (except for exceptional cases, e.g. someone is sick and cannot eat regular matza) while Sephardim cannot use it for the Seder.
See https://www.torahmitzion.org/eng/resources/show.as...
As an Ashkenazi, I will never eat egg matzah.
As far as your friend is concerned, if he is not a kosher eating Jew the rest of the year, then I doubt he will be offended by getting egg matzah.
Source(s): General rule: Consult your local rabbi for a ruling. - 7 years ago
Egg matzoh is not appropriate for the seder because Jews are enjoined to eat matzoh resembling, as closely as possible, the bread resembling that was made at the start of the exodus from Egypt, that is: ONLY flour and water made into dough and baked immediately (not more than 18 minutes should pass between wetting the flour and taking the finished product from the oven.)
- pennybarrLv 77 years ago
It depends on how religious you are. Children and the elderly or infirmed are allowed to eat egg matzoh. Healthy adults may not eat egg matzoh on Passover.
- kaganateLv 77 years ago
"Ashkenazi"/"Sephardi" are overbroad distinctions that are only a guideline for the passover observances. There are many communities whose rabbinic rulings include some characteristics that are commonly called Ashkenaz and some that are commonly called Sephardi.
Best thing to do is ask your friend if he eats the stuff.
Putting any rabbinic decisions aside --
Where I come from, Egg Mazoh was always considered for toddlers and respected elders with serious digestive problems.
Anyone else who eats the stuff was considered "a wuss"
This went well beyond observance -- it was "observed" by those who barely keep any Jewish traditions.
Call it "Jewish cool"
- ?Lv 77 years ago
If the matzoh says "kosher for Passover" on the box, its fine.
Source(s): Brought up in an Ashkenazic family, and we ate egg matzoh all week long for Passover. - Mark S, JPAALv 77 years ago
I'm Ashkenazic and I eat egg matzoh for Passover. I know what it says on the box but that's what we do.
Source(s): I'm Jewish. - ozboz48Lv 77 years ago
It fine.
The thing to remember is that egg matzo is higher in calories and cholesterol, and since most people's cholesterol and weight goes up during Pesach, you might want to take that under consideration.
Source(s): Jewish