Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

royalsgirl asked in SportsBaseball · 2 decades ago

RBI Question?????

If a hitter reaches base on an error or a walk and because of this a runner scores then is it an RBI for the hitter or no because they didn't really have to do anything for that runner to score.

12 Answers

Relevance
  • jack
    Lv 7
    2 decades ago
    Favorite Answer

    If a batter walks with the bases loaded - Yes it's an RBI...When it comes to giving an RBI on a batter ball and the runner scores and there is an error involved in the play it is up to the official scorer to decide if an RBI will be awarded or not...Just as a couple of examples, a runner on third with less than 2 outs the batter hits a long fly ball to right, the RF drops the ball, on this play the RF draws an error for dropping the ball the batter gets a Sac fly(no AB) and an RBI...In the same situation, runner on third less than 2 outs and the infield in, the batter hits a one hopper to the SS who in an effort to throw the runner out at home makes a bad throw, in this case the SS draws on error, no RBI is awarded, you score the play a fielders choice E-6 on your scorecard for the batter...Watch enough BB and you'll get it...

  • 2 decades ago

    A walk which forces in a run entitles the batter to be credited with an rbi.

    An RBI is credited on an error with less than 2 out and when the runner would have scored from third anyways.

    If you are going to be a scorekeeper you should really study the rules closely. The link below is directly to the mlb rules scoring section. It is very easy to interpret. Print it off. Keep it handy for a while. :)

  • 2 decades ago

    If they reach on an error there is no RBI. if the runner reaches on a walk and a runner scores than there is an RBI because the batter technically had to earn the walk to get the runner home. on an error, the defense allows the run to score, not the batter, so he doesnt get credit for it

  • 2 decades ago

    It is an RBI because the fact of how he got on base does not matter... It comes down to the hitters ability to bring the runner home.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • 2 decades ago

    Kansas City in the house!!! In regards to your question the only time that an RBI does not count for the batter is if he hits into a double play. Anyother time a batter forces a runner home it is considered a sacrifice and a RBI.

  • barb
    Lv 6
    2 decades ago

    It is still considered an rbi for the hitter/person that reached base on an error

  • 2 decades ago

    im not sure i understand what ur asking but if a guy does reach on an error or walk and then another guy gets a hit that brings him home its still an rbi. Actually, if the next guy also gets on because of an error and the first guy who reached because of an error scores, the guy still gets an rbi...kinda weird

  • 2 decades ago

    Yes, It is a RBI for the batter, because the runner came home from base.

  • Anonymous
    2 decades ago

    I think only if the runner is on third.

    hey, what does a Royals fan know about RBIs? :)

  • Andy
    Lv 5
    2 decades ago

    Yes the batter still gets the RBI. In a way the batter still had some part in it.

    Source(s): baseball coach
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.