Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
I just heard that vegans can't eat figs, why is that?
I know it's a fruit and fruits aren't generally off-limits; I'm asking cause it's not obvious but someone in Answers thought they weren't vegan.
7 Answers
- exsftLv 71 decade agoFavorite Answer
It's not that some vegans can't, it's they wont because as one poster pointed out, wasps lay eggs inside and are consequently eaten with the fruit.
- 1 decade ago
that's not true, a fig is a fruit. Vegans don't eat dairy or meat, but of course fruit is fine.
- 1 decade ago
It may be because the crunchy bits which most people think are seeds in figs are actually wasp eggs. So I guess in vegan philosophy you can't consume the younglings of the poor fig wasp can you ?
Source(s): http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fig_wasp - How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
- Anonymous1 decade ago
its just hearsay
not true
xoxo
- Anonymous1 decade ago
You are confused.. vegans don't eat pigs, not figs duh :-)