Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
Questions about vegans?
can they eat food that has sugar as an ingredient since they can't eat sugar?
what are some good things to eat for lunch and dinner?
What are some foods that contain gelatin?
4 Answers
- dna habitueLv 61 decade agoFavorite Answer
can they eat food that has sugar as an ingredient since they can't eat sugar?
We can eat sugar! What many strive to stay away from though is sugar that has been bleached or processed, at it is usually filtered through bone char to remove any impurities. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bone_char I eat raw, unprocessed sugar: http://www.sugarintheraw.com/
what are some good things to eat for lunch and dinner?
Vegan pizza, bean burritos, veggie fajitas, soups, pasta dishes, stir fries, casseroles, curries!
Check out some recipes: http://vegweb.com/
What are some foods that contain gelatin?
Jello, many brands of yogurt, candies, foods that are generally...gelatinous.
From wiki:
Common examples of foods that contain gelatin are gelatin desserts, trifles, aspic, marshmallows, and confectioneries such as Peeps, gummy bears and jelly babies. Gelatin may be used as a stabilizer, thickener, or texturizer in foods such as jams, yoghurt, cream cheese, and margarine; it is used, as well, in fat-reduced foods to simulate the mouthfeel of fat and to create volume without adding calories.
Gelatin is used for the clarification of juices, such as apple juice, and of vinegar. Isinglass, from the swim bladders of fish, is still used as a fining agent for wine and beer.
Technical uses:
Capsules made of gelatin.
* Certain professional lighting equipment uses color gels to change the beam color. These used to be made with gelatin, hence the term color gel.
* Gelatin typically constitutes the shells of pharmaceutical capsules in order to make them easier to swallow. Hypromellose is a vegan-acceptable alternative to gelatin, but is more expensive to produce.
* Animal glues such as hide glue are essentially unrefined gelatin.
* It is used to hold silver halide crystals in an emulsion in virtually all photographic films and photographic papers. Despite some efforts, no suitable substitutes with the stability and low cost of gelatin have been found.
* Used as a carrier, coating or separating agent for other substances; for example, it makes beta-carotene water-soluble thus imparting a yellow colour to any soft drinks containing beta-carotene.
* Gelatin is closely related to bone glue and is used as a binder in match heads and sandpaper.
* Cosmetics may contain a non-gelling variant of gelatin under the name hydrolyzed collagen.
* As a surface sizing, it smooths glossy printing papers or playing cards and maintains the wrinkles in crêpe paper.
- 5 years ago
Vegan diet is not natrual, its man made in the 60s. Omnivore is the natrual diet and vegatarian is possible in the right conditions. Omnivore diet is mistaken as a meat intence when its not, it's how you make it. Everyone is different, we all have a genetic mapping that our bodies with thousands of years of evaluation to suit that area. Just because we can travel freely does not mean our bodies change as quick, that's why some people find it difficult with certain diets. A book you may find interesting is "eat for your blood type"
- Kimmekins(:Lv 41 decade ago
They can eat sugar...
and you can eat soy meat that doesn't have milk/eggs and what not.
Foods that have gelatin are: marshmallows, some frosted cereals, starburst, jello, etc.