Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

MTG: Ruling Help...? General Question about Blocking.?

I'm kinda new to Magic, so I just had a general ruling question:

If BLOCKING with a creature that has an effect such as Deathtouch for example... Does the ability still kick in? Considering it is still dealing damage...

My friend seems to think otherwise.

Also, does that mean this ruling still applies with any similar affects such Infect...? Opposing creature would still get poison counters right? Can't think of any other effects at the moment, but you get what I mean... (I Hope)

Thanks! ^_^

6 Answers

Relevance
  • 10 years ago
    Favorite Answer

    Deathtouch works both ways both through attacking and blocking as long as its dealing damage so if an opponent had a card that would prevent the damage his card is safe and yes if a card has infect and deathtouch they would both kick in since dealing damage though it wouldn't matter since its going to die due to deathtouch but if the creature the opponent is blocking is indestructable it would still get -1/-1 counters. so simply

    Yes its ability still kicks in

    Source(s): Been playing since Ravnica. aka around 5 years
  • 10 years ago

    Only abilities like Trample do not work if you are defending. Deathtouch works as long as at least one damage is dealt. Infect counters are still applied from a blocking creature. All this only happens if the attacking creature doesn't have first strike or double strike.

    First strike has its own attack step so it is possible to kill a creature before it can deal damage.

  • Devius
    Lv 6
    10 years ago

    deathtouch and infect are both static abilites. Static abilities are always active as long as the creature is in the battlefield. Deathtouch turns any damage of a creature with deathtouch into lethal damage, killing the creature dealt damage by it. Blocking creature deals damage to attacking creature in combat step. do the math.

    While infect replaces any damage dealt by the creature with infect to -1/-1 counter(to creature) and poison counters(to player).

  • 10 years ago

    Yes, the only keyword static ability that does not work when blocking is Trample, because it says so.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • Anonymous
    10 years ago

    I will give you my beta black lotus card worth $2,250 if you call me right now:

    (727) 748-9770 No purchase necessary. No strings attached. No questions asked.

  • 10 years ago

    Your friends are wrong :)

    Source(s): I play MTG
Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.