Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.
Trending News
MTG land playing postcombat.?
i'm kinda new to MTG and i feel like my friends/opponents were messing with me. abut me playing land after combat while we were playing to headed giant. my partner said i could after they started arguing i couldn't play my land Rakdos carnarium "return a land i control to hand" so i tapped all my mana in my mp1, combat phase, then in post combat i played rakdos and returned a land that my opponent enchanted to only allow 1 more tap on that card, so it would leave the field and go to my hand so i could use it next turn unenchanted. then they started saying i couldn't play it after combat. and we argued for minutes as they tried to google it. i just like to have something so they cant complain next time, like if i were to block their doomgape with 15 1/1 vampire tokens with life link.
4 Answers
- IconLv 78 years agoFavorite Answer
I don't know the specific details of Two Headed Giant (i just don't play the format, so there might be some nuanced rule I am missing), but ...periods would be extremely helpful to figure out what you are saying in general.
If it is your turn to play you can play Rakdos Carnarium as long as you control a land to return to your hand. I don't know why someone says you can't unless you don't have another land. You can play a land anytime you can play a sorcery (aka nothing on the stack) with the only restriction being you can play one per turn unless you have an spell or ability that allows you to play more. That include both pre-combat main phase and post-combat main phase. You are right to be able to play you land after combat as long as you haven't hit your quote of lands played that turn.
As for your Doomgape thing: I have no idea what it has to do with your question but you can block it with 15 1/1 creatures with life link. You will lost up to 10 tokens (mattering on how your opponent chooses to split damage, but more than likely you will lose 10) due to lethal damage and you will have gained 15 life.
- Anonymous5 years ago
That you may simplest play 1 land per turn, whether or not it's a basic or non normal land. Unless you could have some thing that says in any other case like exploration which is an enchantment which says, that you can put down another land each turn.
- Adachi TohruLv 78 years ago
Your friend needs to read the basic rules of the game. You can only play one land a turn, most of the time, but it doesn't matter if it's the first or second main phase.
- Anonymous8 years ago
you can only play another land in your mp2 if you did not play a land in your mp1.
Source(s): experience, wizard rule book