Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

In baseball, can a hitter switch sides of the plate in the middle of an at bat?

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    They can. But there is a rule preventing an ambidextrous pitcher from switching arms during an at bat, so why would they want to give up their advantage? If a relief pitcher is brought into the game in the middle of an at bat, the hitter can most definitely switch batting boxes if it's to his advantage.

    Edit: Closest thing I can find from mlb.com rules, section 6.06-"(A batter is out for illegal action when --) b. He steps from one batter’s box to the other while the pitcher is in position ready to pitch;"

    So if the pitcher hasn't come to the set position, *and* if the batter has requested and received time out from the ump (to avoid breaking rule 6.02 about keeping at least one foot in the batter's box at all times during the at-bat), there's nothing in the rules that says he couldn't switch sides of the plate. But I still can't understand why they would want to switch. Mooch is right about other leagues, there's a kid pitching for Creighton University who is ambidextrous (and it's not a gimmick like that guy from the Expos years ago). NCAA rules don't prohibit him from switching arms between pitches, which led to opposing switch hitters changing batter's boxes. Ultimately, the ump used MLB's rule about making the pitcher declare which arm he'd use to pitch for the remainder of the at-bat, but there was a lot of arguing on both sides.

    Source(s): Looked it up on mlb.com, after looking like a dope on another question in the Baseball category, lol!
  • 5 years ago

    like the bigger the greater effective says, Rule 606 (b) states that the hitter can no longer replace the edge of the plate to hit as quickly as the pitch starts, yet there is not any rule that asserts it could no longer ideally be carried out. I even have considered it take place a pair of circumstances, yet usually this is not any longer carried out simply by fact maximum swap hitters bat one way or the different to bypass righty against lefty, and vice versa. a sturdy occasion I submit to in techniques is whilst a guy replaced into batting lefthanded against a reliable righthander that threw contained in the mid 1890s. He fouled off a fastball that went straight away down, hit the nook of the plate, then got here lower back up and hit him sq. contained in the ultimate suited elbow - all bone. He winced, took a pair practice swings, and found out it harm like each get out to swing left exceeded. He tried swinging good exceeded, and it did no longer harm virtually as badly, so switched to the different edge of the plate to end his at bat. Struck out swinging, and replaced into in a real surly temper something of the nighttime! :-)

  • Mooch
    Lv 4
    1 decade ago

    It depends on the league. Pro baseball usually does not allow for it without very good reason. An exception might be, for example, the batter taking a mild injury to the shoulder from a wild pitch.

    Little league and minor leagues are vague on this rule, but major league and pro pretty much leave no room for variation. If the bench has available players, and no injury was involved, the batter has to stick with what he picked.

    Source(s): Little League coach (and baseball fan)...ten years.
  • 1 decade ago

    no and split is wrong you cannot you are called out if the pitcher begins to throw the ball and you are on the opposite side of the plate that you started on. you wana know why they don't do it in the majors, cuz they will be called out

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • no, I do not think so...I never swing from the other side of the plate

  • 1 decade ago

    of course not!Should I give you a run down on bball?I have never known that to happen.

  • 1 decade ago

    I would think so but wouldn't know why he would want to

  • 1 decade ago

    Yes he can.

  • 1 decade ago

    No

  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    no

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.