Yahoo Answers is shutting down on May 4th, 2021 (Eastern Time) and beginning April 20th, 2021 (Eastern Time) the Yahoo Answers website will be in read-only mode. There will be no changes to other Yahoo properties or services, or your Yahoo account. You can find more information about the Yahoo Answers shutdown and how to download your data on this help page.

Par4 asked in SportsGolf · 1 decade ago

A question for golf rule nutters.?

if a ball enters a lateral water hazard but ends up in a covered pipe that crosses the fairway is this a one stroke penalty or a free drop as it is man made

10 Answers

Relevance
  • 1 decade ago
    Favorite Answer

    I can't believe so many answered this wrong. The key to this question is where is your ball now. If you could take your ball straight up and the ball is still in the boundary of the hazard you would not get relief. However if you moved your ball straight up and the ball was outside of the hazard markers/line you would get relief (a free drop). Here's a rule that helps explain. 24-2b/12 Ball in Drainpipe Under Course; Entrance to Drainpipe Is Out of Bounds. I know this is dealing with out of bounds but the same principle would apply to the water hazard.

    Source(s): USGA Rule book http://www.usga.org/playing/rules/books/ High school golf coach, tournament rules official
  • Anonymous
    1 decade ago

    What matters is where your ball came to rest. Is it within the margin of a hazard when it's in the pipe? There is no penalty for hitting a ball into a hazard. The penalty comes if you decide you can't hit it out of the hazard and have to take a drop - that costs you a stroke.

  • 1 decade ago

    If the pipe is within the confines of the hazard it is a penalty if you decide to take relief. Everything inside the hazard is hazard.

  • 1 decade ago

    Rule 24-2 does not allow relief from obstructions while the ball lies in a water hazard.

    So, no free relief, and proceed under rule 26 for ball within hazard.

  • How do you think about the answers? You can sign in to vote the answer.
  • des
    Lv 5
    1 decade ago

    yeah forget the pipe and the free drop my friend your in a lateral hazard so youve incured a penalty no mater where your ball has ended up inside that hazard unlucky its back to the practise range for you

  • 1 decade ago

    If it is inside the markings of the hazard the penalty for being in the hazard would apply.

  • 1 decade ago

    Keep it simple. You are in the hazard so you have two choices, take a penalty drop or play it as it lies.

  • 1 decade ago

    ask the committee. if the ball is not inside the red line you may get relief. You can see the ball under the covering of the pipe?

  • 1 decade ago

    hazard is hazard. If it didn't come out you must drop.

  • You can always play the shot as it lies penalty free.

Still have questions? Get your answers by asking now.