What's the best way to make a vegetarian gelatin?

I'm vegetarian, but not strict about it. I eat dairy, fish, and once-in-a-while *gasp* regular JELL-O.

Yet out of curiosity, how could I make a strictly vegetarian gelatin that is very similar to the sugar and animal-based JELL-O product?

*Serious answers only. Also, experience in making (or even eating) vegetarian gelatin is preferred.

2010-01-25T15:16:00Z

*You don't know? Don't answer please.

2010-01-25T15:44:17Z

Just to be clear -- folks, I'm NOT going to go around stating that I'm pescetarian. It's bad enough that I'm compelled to state anything at all.

Please refrain from commenting on my choice of personal labels, if you decide to answer my question.

2010-01-25T15:46:40Z

As stated in my details, I'm not "strictly" vegetarian. Please follow Andromache's example on this and answer my actual question only.

2010-01-25T15:54:58Z

wiccagirl24, I understand your position on the label issue, but I don't agree. There are host of dietary restrictions out there - of different levels. Explanations can be offered as needed. People who don't understand a vegetarian diet, shouldn't run a restaurant.

Last statement on this -- I want to MAKE vegetarian gelatin. If you have guidance on this aspect, I welcome it. Otherwise, I have no further interest in dietary discussion.

prettysmartideas2010-01-25T17:00:35Z

Favorite Answer

Use agar agar (a sea vegetable product available in Asian markets in long rectangular pieces, or in health food stores in flakes - the Asian market products are cheapest -- there is really no way to insure organic-ness) You dissolve the agar agar in hot water and add whatever flavorings you want. This is how they make gelatinous foods in Japan and China

If you google "vegan jello" or some such, you will probably come up with recipes with agar agar

Vegan cheeze recipes often use agar agar as a thickener

Some raw vegans also use agar agar to make "jellies"

harlor2016-12-26T12:16:48Z

Gelatin Whole Foods

michale2016-11-15T15:43:26Z

Whole Foods Gelatin

wiccagirl242010-01-25T15:42:28Z

Whole foods carries vegetarian gelatin. You can also make a vegetarian Jello with agar agar and fruit juice.

'Vegetarian' means not eating animals or slaughter bi-products. I think you're doing a good thing by cutting out most meat and being aware of slaughter biproducts. But as long as you're eating fish (an animal) you're not vegetarian. I know some people would consider this a nitpicky detail, but people who say their veg and eat meat make it hard for those of us who are vegetarian and go to people's houses or restaurants where they're under the impression that fish are vegetarian food.

I know that's a lengthy explanation but I want to expalin why it's an issue.

AmberLea2016-02-27T02:16:44Z

no people are wrong, vegetarians DO NOT eat gelatin if you eat gelatin you are not vegetarian, gelatin basically comes from animal bones, so they dont eat it becuase you still have to kill an animal to get gelitan, vegans on the other hand dont eat any animal products whether they directly or indirectly lead to animal harm,

Show more answers (5)